fractured lit flash lab

CLOSES June 30, 2022

Add to Calendar

Workshop Details

This lab is open to all writers and is an excellent way to get your flash or micros ready to submit and find readers!

Please keep submissions to no more than 3 flashes or 5 micros (3,000 words total or less) and include a cover letter describing your piece.

Your cover letter should include a brief introduction to your story, where you have submitted or hope to submit in the future, and any specific feedback you're looking for, as well as challenges you're having with the piece.


Participants Receive:

an editorial letter from your instructor with specific suggestions and developmental edits that will help elevate your flash to the next level


PDF of materials including craft essays from our Editor in Chief, advice and inspiration from editors across the community, editorial notes on what we see from the slush pile, information on submission strategies, and additional advice on submitting.


free submission in a forthcoming Fractured Lit contest


suggestions on literary magazines and contests that would be a good fit for your work, along with reading recommendations from your instructor


Writers will receive feedback no later than August 1, 2021. Early submissions may yield earlier feedback.

2022 Guest Editors:

Andrew Porter is the author of three books, including the forthcoming short story collection, The Disappeared (Knopf, 2022), the short story collection, The Theory of Light and Matter (Vintage/Penguin Random House), which won the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction, and the novel, In Between Days (Knopf), which was a Barnes & Noble “Discover Great New Writers” selection. Porter’s books have been published in foreign editions in the UK and Australia and translated into numerous languages, including French, Spanish, Dutch, Bulgarian, and Korean. His individual stories have appeared in such publications as The Pushcart Prize anthologyPloughsharesOne StoryThe Southern Review, The Missouri Review, and The Threepenny Review, and currently, he teaches fiction writing and directs the Creative Writing Program at Trinity University in San Antonio.


Kim Magowan is the author of the short story collection How Far I've Come (2022), published by Gold Wake Press; the novel The Light Source (2019), published by 7.13 Books; and the short story collection Undoing (2018), which won the 2017 Moon City Press Fiction Award. Her fiction has been published in Colorado Review, Craft Literary, The Gettysburg Review, Smokelong Quarterly, Wigleaf, and many other journals. Her stories have been selected for Best Small Fictions and Wigleaf's Top 50. She is the Editor-in-Chief and Fiction Editor of Pithead Chapel.


Shasta Grant is the author of the chapbook Gather Us Up and Bring Us Home (Split Lip Press, 2017). Ann Patchett selected her story, "Most Likely To," as the winner of the 2015 Kenyon Review Short Fiction Contest. She was a 2020 Aspen Words Emerging Writer Fellow and the 2016 Kathy Fish Fellow at SmokeLong Quarterly, where she is now an editor. She has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize and The Best Small Fictions and long-listed for the Wigleaf Top 50. Her stories and essays have appeared in The Kenyon ReviewEpiphany, Gargoylecream city review, Hobart, MonkeyBicycle, Wigleaf, and elsewhere. Shasta is represented by Saba Sulaiman at Talcott Notch Literary.


Anthony Varallo is the author of a novel, The Lines (University of Iowa Press), as well as four short story collections: This Day in History, winner of the John Simmons Short Fiction Award; Out Loud, winner of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize; Think of Me and I’ll Know (Northwestern University Press/TriQuarterly Books); and Everyone Was There, winner of the Elixir Press Fiction Award.  He is a professor of English at the College of Charleston in Charleston, SC, where he is the fiction editor of Crazyhorse (now swamp pink). Find him online at @TheLines1979.


Sherrie Flick is the author of the novel Reconsidering Happiness and two short story collections, Whiskey, Etc. and Thank Your Lucky Stars. Her fiction has appeared in many anthologies and journals, including Flash Fiction Forward, New Sudden Fiction, and New Micro, as well as Ploughshares, Wigleaf, and New World Writing. She served as series editor for The Best Small Fictions 2018, is a senior editor at SmokeLong Quarterly, and co-editor for Flash Fiction America (Norton, 2022).


Tommy Dean is the author of two flash fiction chapbooks Special Like the People on TV (Redbird Chapbooks, 2014) and Covenants (ELJ Editions, 2021). Hollows, A collection of flash fiction was published by Alternating Current Press in 2022. He lives in Indiana where he currently is the Editor at Fractured Lit and Uncharted Magazine. A recipient of the 2019 Lascaux Prize in Short Fiction, his writing can be found in Best Microfiction 2019 and 2020, Best Small Fiction 2019, Monkeybicycle, and numerous litmags. Find him at and on Twitter @TommyDeanWriter.




  • We accept works of 3 flashes or 5 micros or fewer (No more than 3,000 words total). All genres and all styles are welcome.
  • Please submit no more than 3 flash or 5 micros per submission. Submissions are accepted on a rolling basis.
  • Editors with limited spots will be given on a first-come, first-served basis. The editor reserves the right to assign each submission to the editor of their choice as necessary.
  • If you submit your manuscript after reserving your spot, you will need to request to open your submission by e-mailing us at contact [at] We'll grant you access, and then you can upload your pieces.* This should be completed before the deadline of June 30, 2022.
      *PDF of materials may not be ready at the time of submission but will be provided no later than August 1, 2022*