fractured lit flash lab

CLOSES May 31, 2021

Add to Calendar

Workshop Details

This lab is open to all writers and is an excellent way to get your flash or micros ready to submit and find readers!

Please keep submissions to no more than 3 flashes or 5 micros (3,000 words total or less) and include a cover letter describing your piece.

Your cover letter should include a brief introduction to your story, where you have submitted or hope to submit in the future, and any specific feedback you're looking for, as well as challenges you're having with the piece.


Participants Receive:

an editorial letter from your instructor with specific suggestions and developmental edits that will help elevate your flash to the next level


PDF of materials including craft essays from our Editor in Chief, advice and inspiration from editors across the community, editorial notes on what we see from the slush pile, information on submission strategies, and additional advice on submitting.


free submission in a forthcoming Fractured Lit contest


suggestions on literary magazines and contests that would be a good fit for your work, along with reading recommendations from your instructor


Writers will receive feedback no later than August 1, 2021. Early submissions may yield earlier feedback.

2021 Guest Editors:

K-Ming Chang is a Kundiman fellow, a Lambda Literary Award finalist, and a National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 honoree. She is the author of the New York Times Editors’ Choice novel Bestiary (One World/Random House, 2020), which was longlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize and the PEN/Faulkner Award. Her short story collection, Gods of Want, is forthcoming from One World in June 2022. More of her work can be found at
Anthony Varallo is the author of a novel, The Lines (University of Iowa Press), as well as four short story collections: This Day in History, winner of the John Simmons Short Fiction Award; Out Loud, winner of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize; Think of Me and I’ll Know (Northwestern University Press/TriQuarterly Books); and Everyone Was There, winner of the Elixir Press Fiction Award. New work is out or forthcoming in The New Yorker “Daily Shouts,” One Story, STORY, Chicago Quarterly Review, DIAGRAM, and The Best Small Fictions 2020. Currently, he is a professor of English at the College of Charleston in Charleston, SC, where he is the fiction editor of Crazyhorse. Find him online at @TheLines1979.

Meghan Phillips is the author of the flash fiction chapbook Abstinence Only (Barrelhouse). Her short fiction has appeared in Hobart, Fractured Literary, Hayden's Ferry Review online, and wigleaf among others, and has been anthologized in Best Microfiction 2019, 2020, & 2021 and The Best Small Fictions 2019. She was a 2020 National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellow. You can find her writing at and her tweets at @mcarphil.
Cathy Ulrich is a mixed-race writer from Montana. Her work has been published in various journals, including Black Warrior Review, Passages North and Wigleaf, and can be found in Best Microfiction 2019, 2020 and 2021, Best Small Fiction 2019 and Wigleaf’s Top 50 Very Short Fictions 2017 and 2019. She is the author of  

Sherrie Flick is the author of the novel Reconsidering Happiness and two short story collections, Whiskey, Etc. and Thank Your Lucky Stars. Her fiction has appeared in many anthologies and journals, including Flash Fiction Forward, New Sudden Fiction, and New Micro, as well as Ploughshares, Wigleaf, and New World Writing. She served as series editor for The Best Small Fictions 2018, is a senior editor at SmokeLong Quarterly, and co-editor for Flash Fiction America (Norton, 2022).
Amber Sparks is the author of four collections of short fiction, including And I Do Not Forgive You: Revenges and other Stories and The Unfinished World, and her fiction and essays have appeared in American Short Fiction, the Paris Review, Tin House, Granta, The Cut and elsewhere. She lives in Washington, DC, with her husband, daughter, and two cats.
Tara Isabel Zambrano is the author of Death, Desire And Other Destinations, a full-length flash collection by OKAY Donkey Press. Her work has won the first prize in The Southampton Review Short Short Fiction Contest 2019, a second prize in Bath Flash Award 2020, been a Finalist in Bat City Review 2018 Short Prose Contest and Mid-American Review Fineline 2018 Contest. Her flash fiction has been published in The Best Small Fictions 2019, The Best Micro Fiction 2019, 2020 Anthology. She lives in Texas and is the Fiction Editor for Waxwing Literary Journal.
Sara Lippmann is the author of the story collections DOLL PALACE (713 Books), and JERKS, forthcoming in 2022 from Mason Jar Press. She was awarded an artist’s fellowship in fiction from New York Foundation for the Arts, and her work appears often online and in print, including The Millions, The Washington Post, Epiphany and Best Small Fictions 2020. She teaches at St. Joseph's College in Brooklyn. For more, find her on twitter @saralippmann or visit
Tommy Dean lives in Indiana with his wife and two children. He is the author of a flash fiction chapbook entitled Special Like the People on TV (Redbird Chapbooks, 2014) and Covenants (ELJ Editions, 2021). He is the Editor at Fractured Lit and Uncharted Magazine. He has been previously published in the Bending Genres, Atticus Review, The Lascaux Review, New World Writing, Pithead Chapel, and New Flash Fiction Review. His story “You’ve Stopped” was included in Best Microfiction 2019 and 2020 and the Best Small Fiction 2019. He won the 2019 Lascaux Prize in Short Fiction. Find him @TommyDeanWriter.



  • We accept works of 3 flashes or 5 micros or fewer (No more than 3,000 words total). All genres and all styles are welcome.
  • Please submit no more than 3 flash or 5 micros per submission. Submissions are accepted on a rolling basis.
  • Editors with limited spots will be given on a first-come, first-served basis. The editor reserves the right to assign each submission to the editor of their choice as necessary.
  • If you submit your manuscript after reserving your spot, you will need to request to open your submission by e-mailing us at contact [at] We'll grant you access, and then you can upload your pieces.* This should be completed before the deadline of May 31, 2021.
      *PDF of materials may not be ready at the time of submission but will be provided no later than August 1, 2021*